Unified Workspace provides users with access to resources based on who they are in the directory and what groups they belong to. To help create a personalized workspace for each user, Unified Workspace stores additional information on each user’s object in the directory such as alternative credentials for Single-Sign On, preferences, application assignments, and more. Furthermore, Unified Workspace stores its own configuration in the directory so that it can be accessed centrally by multiple servers, relays, and users without the need for additional infrastructure.
To accomplish all of this, Unified Workspace extends the schema of the directory so that the additional class types and attributes it uses can be kept separate from the directory’s defaults, thus preventing them from affecting other directory-based applications in your environment. The schema modifications only add information to the directory and do not remove or modify any of the default schema objects.
While you can remove the configuration objects related to Unified Workspace, Microsoft does not provide a method by which to safely delete schema objects from Active Directory. However, if the additional schema objects need to be removed, Microsoft allows you to deactivate them (see http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc961741.aspx). Still, since the only modifications Unified Workspace makes is adding new schema objects (all prefixed with “sware”), they will not have any effect on the directory or other applications if they simply go unused.